Assembly of Representatives

What is the Assembly of Representatives?

The Assembly of Representatives (Assembly) is the Chartered Institute of Environmental Health’s (CIEH) professionally focused forum, influencing our governing boards and committees, as well as acting as an adviser to the Board of Trustees and an ambassador for our members.

The Assembly provides opportunities for the regions, branches, Special Interest Groups (SIGs) and student representatives to bring forward topics and professional issues that they consider to be important and current for further consideration.

In addition to its important debating and influencing role, the Assembly also oversees and approves all the appointments to our Governance Structure (Board of Trustees, Risk and Audit Committee, Professional Standards and Policy Committee and the Qualifications Standards Committee).

The Assembly is supported by the regions, branches, SIGs and student community.

Who are the representatives?

The 32 Assembly representatives are elected from our members within the regions, SIGs and student community and terms of office are staggered so that we maintain continuity of representation on the Assembly.

As such, a third of the Assembly of Representatives will stand down at the end of December 2016 and we are currently recruiting for those positions. Further details can be found at Recruitment of Assembly.

What do they do?

The Assembly supports the regions, branches, SIGs and student community, providing them with opportunities to bring forward topics and professional issues that they consider to be important and current for further consideration.

In addition to its important debating and influencing role, the Assembly also oversees and approves all the appointments to our Governance Structure (Board of Trustees, Risk and Audit Committee, Professional Standards and Policy Committee and the Qualifications Standards Committee).

Recruitment

A third of the Assembly of Representatives will stand down at the end of December each year and we will recruit for those positions in the preceding summer.

Nominations for the following regions and SIG's open will open 26 August 2016:

  • International SIG
  • East Midlands Region
  • West Midlands Region
  • Scotland Region
  • Education & Research SIG

Further details can be found at Recruitment of Assembly.

Current Assembly

Chair
Jonathan Hayes, j.hayes@cieh.org  
  Deputy Chair
Vacant
     
C & I SIG
Jonathan Hayes, j.hayes@cieh.org
Mike Bailey, m.bailey@cieh.org 
  Cymru Wales region
Peter Bird, p.bird@cieh.org
Mark Elliott,p.bird@cieh.org  
     
East of England region
Daniel Bayles, d.bayles@cieh.org  
  East Midlands region
Matt Daft, m.daft@cieh.org
Andy Statham, a.statham@cieh.org  
     
Education and Research SIG
Natalie Barrow, n.barrow@cieh.org 
  International SIG
Sarah Johns, s.johns@cieh.org
Alan Page, a.page@cieh.org  
     
London region
Steve Miller, s.miller@cieh.org
Peter Brown, p.brown@cieh.org 
  Northern Ireland region
Steve Cooper, s.cooper@cieh.org
Tom Crossan, t.crossan@cieh.org  
     
North East region
Tim Deveaux, t.deveaux@cieh.org
Les Milne, l.milne@cieh.org 
  North West region
Janette Pierce, j.pierce@cieh.org 
Matthew Crouchley, m.crouchley@cieh.org 
     
Port Health SIG
John Ambrose, j.ambrose@cieh.org
Martin Walker, m.walker@cieh.org 
  Scotland region
Patrick Mackie, p.mackie@cieh.org  
     
South East region
Alan Higgins, a.higgins@cieh.org
David Foster, d.foster@cieh.org 
  South West region
Peter Archer, p.archer@cieh.org
Claire Turbutt, c.turbutt@cieh.org 
     
Student
Brianna O'Malley, b.omalley@cieh.org
Mark Vyse, m.vyse@cieh.org 
  Yorkshire and Humber region
Mark Hodgson, m.hodgson@cieh.org
Gill Piggott, g.piggott@cieh.org 
     
West Midlands region
Charles Yarnold, c.yarnold@cieh.org
David Holmes, d.holmes@cieh.org  
   
no advert
print Print | email Email