Row of people sitting in suits

Board, committees and advisory groups

Our Trustees and Advisory Groups ensure CIEH continues to serve its members and the public.

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees ensures the good governance of CIEH, and that it meets its charter, charitable and legal obligations.

With the addition of the Chief Executive, Anne Godfrey, as a member, it also acts as the Board of CIEH Limited, CIEH’s trading body.

There are six trustees elected by CIEH members, up to six appointed by the Board, and the President (also appointed by the Board).


Siraj Choudhury (Chair) Steve Cooper Kevin Gould (Deputy Chair)
Jonathan Hayes Terenja Humphries Graeme Mitchell
Tim Nichols Mike Owen Nick Pahl
Dawn Welham (President) Jo Wyatt  

Jessica Tabois and David Newsum have been elected as Board members for 2019.

The Board of Trustees is supported in its work by two committees and two advisory groups:

  • Supports the Board by helping to review and formulate strategies for membership and the wider profession.
  • Recommends policies for member recruitment, engagement, retention and services.
  • Reviews the CPD scheme, including regulations and guidance for members.
  • Advises the Board on membership grades, fee structures and entry criteria.


Paul Brookes Dave Foster Sarah Johns
Gareth Moore Dave Statham (Chair) Alan Watt
Steve Cooper    

There is currently one vacancy on this group.

  • Supports the Board in its role as CIEH awarding organisation.
  • Manages the CIEH qualifications and learning portfolio.
  • Participates in the appointment of the Chief Examiner and oversees the work of the Board of Examiners.
  • Assists CIEH in building strong and positive relationships with the HE and FE community.


Maurice Brennan Adam Choonara (Chair) Sarah Cripps
Andrea Higginbottom Gareth Moore Sam Taylor

There are currently two vacancies in this group.

  • Identifies key risks in CIEH’s operation and supports management of those risks.
  • Ensures appropriate accounting and financial policies and controls are in place.
  • Receives reports from external auditors and advisors, ensuring that control processes are co-ordinated and effective.


Roy Coulter (Chair) Jonathan Hayes Lawrence Manna
Les Milne Robert Spain  
  • Recommends appointments to the Board, its committees and advisory groups.
  • Reviews the composition of the Board and identifies any skills gaps.
  • Recommends the framework policy for the remuneration of the Chief Executive.
  • Reviews any significant proposed changes in employment policy and benefits for CIEH staff.


Victoria Stubbs (Chair) Steve Othen Amanda Clarke
Dawn Welham    

There is currently one vacancy on this Committee.