Close on awards


Meet our team of judges who have each been selected because of their experience and knowledge of environmental health.

 photo of John Barnes John Barnes

 photo of Nick HowardNick Howard

 photo of Justine FullerJustine Fuller

 photo of Jonathan HayesJonathan Hayes

 photo of Nick LongNick Long

 photo of Dawn WelhamDawn Welham

 photo of Mark VyseMark Vyse

photo of Annie Sargent Annie Sargent

photo of Chris DarkChris Dark

 photo of Stephen BattersbyStephen Battersby

 photo of Wayne BlythingWayne Blything

photo of Stuart WiggansStuart Wiggans

photo of Lisa CobbLisa Cobb

photo of Rebecca JohnsonRebecca Johnson


Our team of judges have each been selected because of their experience and knowledge of environmental health. A minimum of two judges are assigned to each category to ensure objectivity and impartiality.

  • John Barnes - Strategic Advisor, Shield Safety Group and Food Safety Consultant
  • Nick Howard - Public Protection Group Manager, Lancaster City Council
  • Justine Fuller - Environmental Health Manager at Guildford Borough Council
  • Jonathan Hayes - Risk Management Director, Moto Hospitality Ltd.
  • Nick Long - Executive Director, Public Protection, Planning and Governance, Welwyn Hatfield Borough Council
  • Dawn Welham - President of CIEH
  • Mark Vyse - Environmental Health Officer (Pollution), Cheshire East Council
  • Annie Sargent - Environmental Health Partnership Manager for Sevenoaks and Dartford
  • Chris Dark - HSE Director, Sodexo UK & Ireland
  • Stephen Battersby - CIEH Vice President
  • Wayne Blything - Food Safety Advisor, Harrods
  • Stuart Wiggans - Senior Director, Operational Compliance, Asda
  • Lisa Cobb - Head of Health & Food Safety, SSP UK. Chartered Environmental Health Practioner
  • Rebecca Johnson - Head of Environment and Waste Strategy at London Borough of Harrow Council


To avoid conflicts of interest, no judge is permitted to consider entries from a company / person they are associated with. To ensure the privacy of the information you submit, each judge has signed a Confidentiality Agreement.

Judging Process

After the entry deadline of Friday 29 June, the judges will be sent the entries in the category they have been assigned. NB: It is at this point that judges will inform CIEH of any potential conflicts of interest. Each judge will consider the entries on their own before coming together with their fellow judge/s to jointly agree on a shortlist and winner (they may choose to also award a Highly Commended). If they are not able to come to a joint decision, the decision will be deferred to the Chair of Judges.