Awards and certificates on display


There are six categories for CIEH Excellence Awards 2018. Entries are now closed.

There were six categories available for entry or nomination for the CIEH Excellence Awards 2018. The Excellence awards reflect a true picture and celebration of the moving landscape of environmental health.

Best Environmental Health Project

A project or campaign that has had an impact or outcome of improving health, wellbeing and environment.

Best Innovative Environmental Health Solution

Innovative examples of good practice, challenging assumptions and professional boundaries to achieve effective environmental health outcomes.

Outstanding Environmental Health Professional

An individual who has delivered a significant improvement to health, wellbeing and environment.

Outstanding Environmental Health Team

A team that has delivered a significant improvement to health, wellbeing and environment.

Nomination Only

Think about your peers and colleagues in the environmental health profession who deserve to be recognised for the work that they do.

Environmental Housing Hero

An individual or organisation that has benefitted their communities or environment significantly in the area of Housing.

Rising Environmental Health Star

An individual who is a student or in the first three years of their professional career who demonstrates initiative and inspirational qualities in the field of environmental health.


Entries and nominations are expected to be diverse and to showcase the breadth of work being carried out by environmental health professionals and services across all employment sectors in the UK.

Judges will give specific consideration to:

  • Improvement to public health and wellbeing
  • Reduction in health inequality
  • Improvements to public protection
  • Promotion of sustainability

Multiple entries or more than one nomination in any category may be made if related to different projects and/or categories.