Row of people sitting in suits

Committees and advisory groups

Our committees and advisory groups support the work of the Board of Trustees.

The Board of Trustees is supported in its work by two committees and two advisory groups:

  • Supports the Board by helping to review and formulate strategies for membership and the wider profession.
  • Recommends policies for member recruitment, engagement, retention and services.
  • Reviews the CPD scheme, including regulations and guidance for members.
  • Advises the Board on membership grades, fee structures and entry criteria.


Steve Cooper Sarah Johns Gareth Moore (Chair)
Laura Morgan David Newsum Parneet Paul
Natalie Pearce Alan Watt  
  • Supports the Board in its role as CIEH awarding organisation.
  • Manages the CIEH qualifications and learning portfolio.
  • Participates in the appointment of the Chief Examiner and oversees the work of the Board of Examiners.
  • Assists CIEH in building strong and positive relationships with the HE and FE community.


Adam Choonara (Chair) Andrea Higginbottom Zena Lynch
Gareth Moore Jessica Tabois Alastair Tomlinson

There are two current vacancies on the group, applications for which closed on Friday 8 October 2021.

  • Identifies key risks in CIEH’s operation and supports management of those risks.
  • Ensures appropriate accounting and financial policies and controls are in place.
  • Receives reports from external auditors and advisors, ensuring that control processes are co-ordinated and effective.


John Cragg Carol Healy (Chair) Madhu Murali
Saravana Namasivayam Robert Spain  
  • Recommends appointments to the Board, its committees and advisory groups.
  • Reviews the composition of the Board and identifies any skills gaps.
  • Recommends the framework policy for the remuneration of the Chief Executive.
  • Reviews any significant proposed changes in employment policy and benefits for CIEH staff.


Maurice Brennan Amanda Clarke James Howe (Chair)
Tracey Marshall Andrea Sutherill