Janet Russell OBE joins CIEH as new Vice President

09 February 2022, Ross Matthewman

CIEH has today announced that Janet Russell OBE will be joining as one of its new Vice Presidents.

Janet joins a new group of Vice Presidents spanning politics, public health, local government, and academia.

During a successful 35-year career in Local Government, Janet gained a national reputation in regulatory and environmental policy and delivery. This included serving on several Government advisory groups and Task Forces including 10 years on the Better Regulation Task Force, leading initial work on licensing reform. Her final 11 years in Local Government were as a Strategic Director in a large and diverse metropolitan authority.

Since leaving Local Government Janet has had a portfolio of paid and unpaid work in the public and private sector including Non-Executive and Trustee roles.

She has just completed 18 months working at the Department for Health and Social Care focussing on the UK’s Covid response, initially in the regional coordination team and latterly as principal consultant in the operational capacity team, promoting the importance of Environmental Health and Trading Standards. She is now continuing this work with the Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy.

Janet is also on the Board of YES energy solutions, an award-winning community interest company which provides low carbon and energy efficiency solutions for the private and public sector and addresses fuel poverty nationwide.

CIEH’s new group of Vice Presidents now include:

  • Dr Stephen Battersby MBE - Visiting senior fellow at the Robens Centre for Public and Environmental Health
  • Sir Graham Brady MP – Conservative Party MP for Altrincham and Sale
  • Christopher Brereton OBE – Welsh Food Advisory Committee member and former Chief Environmental Health Officer for Wales
  • Karen Buck MP – Labour Party MP for Westminster North
  • Professor Christopher Elliott OBE  - Professor of Food Safety at Queen's University, Belfast
  • Baroness Ilora Finlay – Crossbench Member of the House of Lords
  • Professor Tim Lang – Professor Emeritus of Food Policy at City University London's Centre for Food Policy
  • Jim McManus – Director of Public Health for Hertfordshire County Council/Population Health Management Lead, Hertfordshire and West Essex Integrated Care System and Visiting Professor at the University of Hertfordshire
  • Geoffrey Podger CB – Former Chief Executive of the Health and Safety Executive, the European Food Safety Agency, and the Food Standards Agency
  • Janet Russell OBE – Local government strategy and policy expert, and UK Government adviser
  • Sarah Veale CBE – Former Head of the Equality and Employment Rights Department at the Trades Union Congress (TUC)
  • Joan Walley – Chair of the Midlands Regional Greener NHS Delivery Board, former chairman of the Aldergsate group and former Labour Party MP for Stoke on Trent North

The new group of Vice Presidents will also work to promote the vital role of environmental health across our country and to highlight the essential role played by environmental health professionals in our communities.

Janet Russell OBE Said:

“I am delighted to be joining CIEH as a new Vice President.

Having spent a number of years working at local government and advising national government, I know the value and importance of environmental health in protecting our communities and promoting a sustainable future.

Having recently joined the newly formed Association of Chief Environmental Health Officers, I will do whatever I can to ensure that environmental health professionals have a voice with policy makers in Government.”

Julie Barratt, CIEH President, said:

“Janet has incredible expertise in the field of regulatory and environmental policy and delivery, with a distinguished CV. We are very pleased that she has joined us and look forward to utilising her vast experience and passion to promote the invaluable work of our members.”

Luminous cubes

CIEH Leadership Programme

Take your career to the next level with the CIEH Leadership Programme.

Find out more