Paper aeroplanes in a row

Board of Trustees

Our Trustees ensure CIEH continues to serve its members and the public.

The Board of Trustees ensures the good governance of CIEH, and that it meets its charter, charitable and legal obligations. It also acts as the Board of CIEH Limited, CIEH's trading body.

There are six trustees elected by CIEH members, up to six appointed by the Board, and the President (also appointed by the Board).

The Board of Trustees is supported in its work by two committees and two advisory groups.

Nominations for the next Board election will open in May 2023 and vacancies for appointed members will be advertised in August 2023. The role of President will become vacant at the end of 2023 and is now being advertised.


Julie Barratt

Julie Barratt CEnvH MCIEH (President)
In addition to being President of CIEH, Julie is a Chartered Environmental Health Practitioner (EHP) and barrister. She practised environmental health in Northern Ireland, England and Wales for ten years. She qualified as a barrister and spent 20 years practising law in private practise and in local government, specialising in regulatory law.


Judith Hedgley

Judith Hedgley MCIEH
Judith is an Environmental Health Officer with 33 years' experience working in local government. She is Head of the Public Protection Service at Middlesbrough Council responsible for a wide range of Environmental Health, Housing, Licensing and also public health functions. She is Chair of the North East Public Protection Partnership which represents the 12 local authorities in the North East.


Saravana Namasivayam

Saravana Namasivayam
Saravana's career has spanned both private and public sectors in areas such as accounting and finance, management consulting and operations. He is currently helping shape a major finance transformation programme for his organisation. Saravana is also the Chief Operating Officer of a small care home and volunteers as a business mentor for small business owners and start-ups as part of the Institute of Enterprise and Entrepreneurs.


Daniel Oerther

Professor Daniel Oerther PhD CEng CEnv FCIEH FRSPH
Daniel teaches environmental health engineering at the Missouri University of Science and Technology. He is a Diplomat of the American Academy of Sanitarians and is internationally renowned for leadership that bridges engineering, nursing and sanitation to advance environmental health practice through policy and science diplomacy.


Kirpal Tahim

Kirpal Tahim
After a rewarding career in the telecommunications industry, Kirpal now serves as a trustee for Citizens Advice, a nursing home and University of West London (UWL). A Chartered Engineer and a Chartered Certified Accountant, Kirpal holds an MSc, a PhD, an MBA, and was awarded an Honorary DSc by UWL for contribution to industry and education.

Rosemary Lee CEnvH FCIEH and Abigail Miller CEnvH MCIEH have been appointed to the Board of Trustees until our new elected Trustees have joined the Board as a result of the elections taking place in May. This is to ensure that the Board is quorate and able to function in the meantime.